Honors Committee Meeting Minutes May 4, 2016

Committee Members in Attendance: Eunjoo Cho, Jennie Popp, Luke Howard, Thad Scott, Ken Korth, Godwin-Charles Ogbeide

Committee Members not in Attendance: Curt Rom, Mardel Crandall, Charles Rosenkrans, Donn Johnson, Nick Anthony, Jefferson Miller

Future Members in Attendance: Lisa Wood

Staff Present: Leslie Edgar, Jody Davis, Dentin Schwartz

Approval of Aprils Committee Minutes: (voted on and passed unanimously)

• Minutes are to be placed on the website with next update.

Departmental Announcements:

- Dr. Lisa Wood will be taking over Dr. Thad Scott's position as the CSES representative on the Honors Committee.
- Dr. Lanier Nalley will be taking over Dr. Jennie Popp's position as the AEAB representative on the Honors Committee.

Honors Student Timeline: (voted on and passed unanimously)

- Discussion of Honors Student Timeline and form placement
- Submission deadlines.
 - o Change of admit term to anticipated graduation term
- Forms
 - o Removal of Mentor Responsibilities Contract
 - o When students submit their proposal with form 2, they should provide a personal timeline and goals for deadlines.
- Timeline will be displayed on the website with next update
- Freshman in the fall will be held to these guidelines, deadlines and dates.

Honors Mentors and Honors Committee Responsibilities Lists:

- One list of responsibilities/expectations for Honors mentors
- One list of responsibilities/expectations for the Honors Committee
 - o For review and discussion
 - o Mentor responsibilities will be noted on the website with next update

Orientation Packet Insert Discussion:

- One insert for Honors students
- One insert for Non-Honors students
- One insert for parents
- All provide year-by-year milestones
 - Currently at the printers, to be finished in time for student orientations beginning June 7.

Honors Distinction Discussion:

- Honors Distinctions could be established by thesis defense, grading of thesis hours, and grade point average.
- Establish a grading system for Honors Thesis Document.
- Distinction could be based off a score for your thesis defense.
 - o Form 3 could have a scoring option in place of a pass/fail, scoring committee would decide Honors Distinction.
- Thesis document could be scored and factored into their distinction.
 Results: No formal action taken.

Announcements:

Student Mentors – 12 applications and will do interviews this week and next to make selection Honors Graduation Reception

- May 13, Gearhart Hall's Downstairs Lounge Area (room 130) 4-5 p.m.
- Catering Briar Rose Light hors d'oeuvres
- Graduating Students and Mentors:
 - o Paige Acklie, AEAB (Mentor: Jennie Popp)
 - o Lauren Cambias, HESC (Mentor: Jamie Baum)
 - o Jessalyn Kohn, CSES (Mentor: Thad Scott)
 - o Jennifer Long, ANSC (Mentor: Ken Coffey)
 - o Hannah Newberry, ANSC (Mentor: Rick Rorie)
 - o Mitchell Pruitt, CSES (Mentor: Kim Smith)
 - o Brittany Weir, ANSC (Mentor: Tom Yazwinski)
 - o Justin Carroll, AECT (fall graduate) (Mentor: Don Johnson)
 - o Lauren Presley, HESC (fall graduate) (Mentor: Hope Ballentine)
- Outstanding Thesis Competition
 - Thank you to our judges: Jeff Miller, Rick Rorie, and Mary Savin
 - o Lauren Ashley Cambias Outstanding Thesis
 - o Mitchell Lee Pruitt Runner-up
- Bumpers College Commencement Ceremony
 - May 14, Barnhill Arena beginning at 3:30 p.m. (arrive at 2:45 p.m.)
 - Honors Mentors are asked to escort mentees across the stage in commencement
- Honors Research and Creative Grants
 - 10 applications
 - Reviews in and determining awards
- 2016 Outstanding Honors Faculty Mentor Award: Dr. Jennie Popp
 - Nominated and selected by Honors Student Board
 - Recognition at the Fall Faculty Reception
 - \$1,500 stipend